British Academy Film Awards

BAFTA’s annual film awards ceremony is known as the British Academy Film Awards, rewarding the best work of any nationality seen on British cinema screens during the preceding year. Since 2008 the ceremony has been held at the Royal Opera House in London’s Covent Garden having taken place since 2000 in the flagship Odeon cinema on Leicester Square. The ceremony previously took place in April or May, but from 2002 onwards has taken place in February, in order to precede the Oscars.

In order for a film to be considered for a BAFTA nomination its first public exhibition must be in a cinema and it must have a UK theatrical release in a public UK cinema for no fewer than seven days in the calendar year that corresponds to the upcoming Awards. A film must be feature length and films from all countries are eligible in all categories, with the exception of Outstanding British Film, Outstanding Debut, Short Film and Short Animation which are for British films only.

Pedro Almodóvar‘s “La piel que habito” (The Skin I Live In), starring Antonio Banderas and Elena Anaya, has been confirmed as a candidate in the Film Not In The English Language category for the 2012 edition of the awards.

Official website:

Posted by  IberoAmericanMovies
Categories: Awards, BAFTA, Events


  1. [...] BAFTA Awards: Best Foreign Language Film; Best Direction: Pedro Almodóvar. [...]

  2. [...] with him too – which daughter should he marry?AwardsAcademy Awards: Best Foreign Language FilmBAFTA Awards: Best Film not in the English LanguageCinema Writers Circle Awards: CEC Award – Best [...]

Leave a Reply